Irrigation New Zealand

The Ron Cocks Award is announced at INZ's biennial conference dinner. The award recognises a person who has made a significant contribution to irrigation in NZ.

J.R. (Ron) Cocks was a Mid Canterbury farmer, a pioneer, visionary and a leader in farming affairs. His greatest legacy to New Zealand was his leadership in water issues. The Memorial Award acknowledges that legacy and encourages others to follow his leadership.

The recipients of the Ron Cocks Memorial Award from 2008 to 2016 were:

  • Sid Hurst in 2008
  • Allan Hubbard in 2010
  • Brian Cameron in 2012
  • Bob Engelbrecht and Grant McFadden in 2014
  • Tony Banks and Robin Murphy in 2016

The 2018 recipients of the Ron Cocks Memorial Award were Gavin Dann and Terry Heiler .

Prior to each conference, INZ calls on members to nominate people they consider worthy of this award. The criteria are:

1.Duration of service

2.Quality of service

3.Actual achievement

4.Level of voluntary input