

Minutes of the Irrigation New Zealand Incorporated (INZ) 2021 Annual General Meeting (AGM)

Online Zoom AGM Webinar

Thursday 20th November 2021

4:00pm

Approved at the INZ AGM on the 26th October 2022 in Wellington

AGENDA

- 1. Welcome
- 2. Apologies
- 3. Minutes of 2020 AGM
- 4. Announcement of election results and introduction of board members
- 5. Chair's Report

Resolution: That the Chair's report is received

6. Chief Executive Officer's Report

Resolution: That the Chief Executive's report is received

7. Financial Report

Resolution: That the 2020-21 financial accounts are approved

- 8. General Business
- 9. Guest Speaker Cameron Bagrie
- 10. Meeting Close

The online meeting opened at 4:00pm

1. Welcome

Members joining the meeting were welcomed and thanked for their attendance.

Members who joined the online AGM:

Melanie Brooks (MHV)	Keri Johnston (Irricon and INZ director)
Eitan Dan (CropX Ltd)	Andrew Rodwell (NOIC)
John Donkers (Central Plains Water)	Randal Hanrahan (ALIL)
Ian McIndoe (Aqualinc)	Rebecca Whillans (ALIL)
Jim Herbison (Aqualinc)	Colin Glass (ALIL)
Neal Borrie (Aqualinc)	Jared Ross (KDIC)
Jen Fellowes (Waitaki Irrigators Collective)	Ivan Knauf (Independent irrigator and INZ director)
Andrew Barton (Amuri and INZ director)	Rab McDowell (BCI and past INZ director)
Sara Black (Amuri Irrigation)	Susan Goodfellow (Leftfield Innovation Ltd)
Dan Stephens (Plains Irrigators Ltd)	Hamish Tait (Hamish Tait Projects Ltd)
Jeremias Paras (Delhaven Farms Ltd)	Justin O'Brien (Rangitata Dairies Group)
Brett Hibell (Delhaven Farms Ltd)	Nick Houghton (Barhill Chertsey Irrigation Ltd)
HarmenHeesen (Technifarm and INZ director)	Marty Bloy (43 South)
	Tony McCormick (Ragitata Diversion Race Management Ltd)

Attendees:

Vanessa Winning (INZ staff)	Stephen McNally (INZ staff)
Lynn Lawrence (INZ staff)	Julie Melhopt (INZ staff)
Anna Matevosyan (INZ Staff)	Ella Stokes (INZ staff)

2. Apologies

Apologies were received from:

John Bright	Liz Soal
Robyn Wells	Matt Bubb

Andrew Mockford	
Andrew Mockiera	

Resolution: that the apologies be accepted

- Motion moved by Keri Johnston
- Seconded by Jared Ross
- Carried unanimously

3. Minutes of 2020 AGM

The minutes of the 2020 AGM had been pre-circulated. No comments, changes or additions were raised.

Resolution: that the minutes of the Irrigation NZ 2020 AGM be accepted as a true and accurate record

- Motion moved by Keri Johnston
- Seconded by Randal Hanrahan
- Carried unanimously

4. Announcement of Election Results

4.1. Election of Board Members

Keri advised that according to the Rules, in every year at least one third of the Elected Board must retire from office. By rotation, Jared Ross and Ivan Knauf were due to retire at the AGM. Jared Ross had made himself available for re-election but Ivan Knauf had not. IrrigationNZ can have a maximum number of six elected board members. Currently two seats were required to be filled through nomination. As three nominations were received, a vote was required.

The nominees were:

- Jared Ross
- Susan Goodfellow
- Bridgit Hawkins

Voting was conducted by online electronic ballot from 9.00am 8 November to 5.00pm 17 November 2021. The successful candidates from the 2021 election results were:

- Jared Ross
- Susan Goodfellow

Keri thanked the nominees and welcomed the new director Susan Goodfellow, along with Jared Ross re-elected. Keri confirmed the 2021- 2022 NZ board members as:

- Keri Johnston
- Andrew Rodwell
- Andrew Barton

- Randal Hanrahan
- Jared Ross
- Susan Goodfelllow

A huge thank you was extended to retiring board member Ivan Knauf for his contribution to the board and in particular his work on the revision of the INZ Constitution.

4.2 Voting Result on Proposed Constitution 2021

As the results of the voting held prior to the AGM showed 100% in favour of the Proposed Constitution 2021, Keri confirmed the Proposed Constitution 2021 as adopted.

4.3 Voting Result on Directors' Remuneration

As the results of the voting held prior to the AGM showed 97% in favour of the proposal Keri confirmed the proposal as carried.

5. Chair's Report

Keri Johnston confirmed that the INZ Annual Report had been circulated to members prior to the meeting. The report was taken as read. Keri spoke to the report.

Resolution: that the Chair's report be received

- Motion moved by Keri Johnston
- Seconded by Jared Ross
- Carried

6. Chief Executive's Report

Vanessa Winning confirmed that the INZ Annual Report had been circulated to members prior to the meeting. The report was taken as read. Vanessa spoke to the report.

Resolution: that the Chief Executive's report be received

- Motion moved by Ker Johnston
- Seconded by Tony McCormick
- Carried

7. Financial Report

Keri presented the financial report, confirming that the INZ Annual Report had been circulated to members prior to the meeting. The report was taken as read. Keri spoke to the report and thanked the Finance Committee for their dedication during the year. There were no questions from the floor.

Resolution: that the 2020-21 financial accounts be approved

- Motion moved by Keri Johnston
- Seconded by Mel Brooks

Carried

8. General Business

There was no other business.

9. Keri Johnston declared the AGM closed at 4.15pm

10. Cam Bagrie of Bagrie Economics was introduced as the guest speaker

Cam presented an interesting overview of trends in the New Zealand economy, uncertainty and the enduring impact of covid, and options that might be considered to address these from a longer-term perspective rather than the short-term. The talk generated many questions from attendees. Cam was thanked greatly for his time and the relevance of the topic.

The online webinar and talk ended at 5.15pm

.