

# Minutes of the Irrigation New Zealand Incorporated (INZ) 2022 Annual General Meeting (AGM)

# Level 18 ANZ Centre,171 Featherston Street, Wellington

# Wednesday 26 October 2022

# 4:30pm

### **AGENDA**

1. Welcome

2. Apologies

3. Minutes of 2021 AGM

4. Announcement of election results and introduction of board members

5. Chair's Report

Resolution: That the Chair's report is received

6. Chief Executive Officer's Report

Resolution: That the Chief Executive's report is received

7. Financial Report

Resolution: That the 2021-22 financial accounts are approved

8. General Business

9. Meeting Close

The meeting opened at 4:30pm

#### 1. Welcome

The Chair welcomed members joining the meeting and thanked them for their attendance.

## Members who attended the AGM:

Keri Johnston (Irricon and INZ Chair)
Andrew Rodwell (NOIC)
Randal Hanrahan (ALIL)
Jared Ross (KDIC)
Andrew Barton (Amuri)
Susan Goodfellow (Leftfield Innovation Ltd)
Emma Crutchley (Puketoi Farming Company
Tony McCormick (Ragitata Diversion Race Management Ltd)
Rebecca Whillans (ALIL)
Nick Daniels (BCI)
Andrew Mockford (Opuha Water Ltd)
Denis Gavin (Lindsay International Ltd)
John Triantafilis (Manaaki Whenua Landcare Research)
Sarah Eveleigh (Anderson Lloyd)
David Goodman (Anderson Lloyd)

## AGM Attendees:

Vanessa Winning (INZ staff)	Stephen McNally (INZ staff)
Lynn Lawrence (INZ staff)	Julie Melhopt (INZ staff)
Ella Stokes (INZ staff)	Ruth Lavelle-Treacy (Spear)
Jeremy Anderson (Maniototo Irrigation Co Ltd	Jemma Mulvihill (Vantage New Zealand Ltd)
Robyn Wells (past INZ Director)	James Gardner (Ballance Agri-Nutrients Ltd)

### Attendees who joined the Awards Event from 5.30pm:

	·
Minister Damien O'Connor (Minister of Agriculture) – Guest Speaker	Charlie Leaper (Policy Advisor - Minister O'Connor's Office)
Brendan Hamilton (H2Ortigator)	Penny Robinson (Robinson SDI)
Hayley Hamilton (H2Ortigator)	Gary Robinson (Robinson SDI)
Stephen Cunningham (MPI)	

### 2. Apologies

Apologies were received from:

Ivan Knauf	Graeme Cooper
------------	---------------

### Resolution: that the apologies be accepted

- Motion moved by Keri Johnston
- · Seconded by Jared Ross
- Carried unanimously

### 3. Minutes of 2021 AGM

The minutes of the 2021 AGM had been pre-circulated. No comments, changes or additions were raised.

# Resolution: that the minutes of the Irrigation NZ 2021 AGM be affirmed as a true and accurate record

- Motion moved by Keri Johnston
- Seconded by Jared Ross
- Carried unanimously

### 4. Announcement of Election Results

### 4.1. Election of Board Members

Keri confirmed the rules that IrrigationNZ can have a maximum number of six elected board members, and in every year at least one third of the Elected Board must retire from office. Randal Hanrahan has chosen to retire form the board at the 2022 AGM, and in addition Susan Goodfellow will also be stepping down from the board. Currently two seats were required to be filled through nomination. As three nominations were received, a vote was required.

The nominees were:

- Emma Crutchley
- Mark Pizey
- Kurt Brocklebank

Voting was conducted by online electronic ballot from 9.00am Tuesday 18 October to 5.00pm Tuesday 25 October 2022. The successful candidates from the 2022 election results were:

- Emma Crutchley
- Mark Pizey

Keri thanked the nominees and welcomed the new directors Emma Crutchley and Mark Pizey to the board. Keri confirmed the 2022- 2023 NZ board members as:

- Keri Johnston
- Andrew Rodwell
- Andrew Barton
- Jared Ross
- Emma Crutchley
- Mark Pizey

A huge thank you was extended to retiring board members Randal Hanrahan and Susan Goodfellow for their contribution to the board.

### 5. Chair's Report

Keri Johnston confirmed that the Chair's Report had been circulated to members prior to the meeting. The report was taken as read. Keri spoke to the report.

### Resolution: that the Chair's report be received

- Motion moved by Keri Johnston
- Seconded by Randal Hanrahan
- Carried unanimously

### 6. Chief Executive's Report

Vanessa Winning confirmed that the Chief Executive's Report had been circulated to members prior to the meeting. The report was taken as read. Vanessa spoke to the report.

### Resolution: that the Chief Executive's report be received

- Motion moved by Keri Johnston
- Seconded by Ian McIndoe
- Carried unanimously

### 7. Financial Report

Andrew Rodwell presented the financial report, confirming that the INZ Annual Report had been circulated to members prior to the meeting. The report was taken as read. Andrew spoke to the report and thanked the Finance Committee and board members for their dedication during the year. A small surplus has been achieved this year as planned, consistent with the board's objectives to build up cash reserves.

Andrew advised that there will be a 2023 formal review of the INZ accounts and financial systems. There were no questions from the floor.

### Resolution: that the 2021-22 financial accounts be approved

- Motion moved by Keri Johnston
- Seconded by Andrew Barton
- Carried unanimously

### 8. General Business

Keri presented farewell gifts to Randal and Susan in thanks for their time and contribution in serving on the INZ board.

Keri Johnston declared the AGM closed at 5.00pm